Quadrantids, Comet Lovejoy, and Caltech

So I submitted my application to Caltech. This time, I actually managed to get pretty much everything in on time (unlike how everything was late and last minute for MIT). And because I spent a fair bit of time writing the answers to the questions (instead of it being last minute for MIT because I’d decided to scratch everything and redo everything for MIT), and because I actually included a sort of portfolio this time, I think I have a much better shot this time. Also, because at Caltech, females are a minority (I mean, only a third of the students are female), I have a fighting chance. Caltech also seems to be a better place for me, as even though the dorms don’t allow cats, it’s the number one college for cosmology. That and if I get in, I can prank the hell out of MIT. 😛 On a random note, I only realized about two hours before I submitted the application that Caltech is spelled with a lowercase t.

I’ve been trying to track Comet Lovejoy, but Florida decided not to participate in Winter, and introduced to us 80+ high humidity weather, with lots of clouds. I got to see Comet Lovejoy on two nights (the disparity between the location of the dot across both nights confirmed that it was Comet Lovejoy).

I’m going to try to view the Quadrantids tonight, but with what weather we’ve been having, I doubt I’ll get to see any. And because school starts again tomorrow, I can’t stay up too late. Still, I want to catch at least one Quadrantid meteor.

And I’m not sure why, but somehow I got 41 followers in 2 months. I suppose half of them are spam follows, but the other half… when I check the profiles, the stuff they post is at least somewhat relevant to the stuff I post, so I suppose there’s a “related profiles” feature somewhere here.

Quadrantids, Comet Lovejoy, and Caltech

3 thoughts on “Quadrantids, Comet Lovejoy, and Caltech

    1. Either you’re that dude from MIT (I honestly never learned your name–all I know is either MIT dude or EKJorvette or whatever), or everyone’s insisting I read that book. Either way, I have way too much on my plate at the moment, but I’ll eventually get around to reading it.

      Like

      1. Emmanuel Goldstein says:

        Yes, I am that guy from MIT, known online as EJKorvette. When you do get around to reading it, you will understand WHY I have been trying to get you to read it, and why you are one of the few people on the planet that will truly appreciate that book. btw have you ever read Gödel Escher Bach?

        Like

Leave a Reply

